The Gulbenkian Prize 2005

ulbenkian Prize 2005 winner: Big Pit National Coal Museum, Blaenafon


Big Pit: the National Mining Museum of Wales

Short List

Long List


  • Chair of the Judges:¬† Sir Richard Sykes, Rector of Imperial College London
  • Joan Bakewell CBE, broadcaster and writer
  • Sir Neil Chalmers, Warden, Wadham College, Oxford and former Director of the Natural History Museum
  • Michael Day, Chief Executive, Historic Royal Palaces
  • Sokari Douglas Camp, sculptor
  • Victoria Hislop, journalist and novelist
  • Dr Elizabeth Mackenzie, Vice-Chairman, British Association of Friends of Museums